## Student Awards: The Charles H. Coffin Scholarship Medal

The Charles H. Coffin Scholarship Medal is awarded each year to an honor graduate of Lyon College who has taken at least his or her last three years of work here as a regular student. The award, in the form of a gold medal, represents the highest award conferred upon a Lyon College student. It was founded around the turn of the century by Charles H. Coffin of New York City, Class of 1884, as the Alumni Medal. After his death in 1916, the award was endowed by a gift from a classmate of the original donor and renamed the "Charles H. Coffin Scholarship Medal." After the mold for the medal was lost, Eugene Sloan, '12, loaned his personal Coffin Medal to the College so that another die could be cast. His lifelong respect for the medal caused Mr. Sloan's family to create the Eugene Sloan Endowment for the Coffin Medal to underwrite the cost of the medal. Records are still being searched in order to compile a complete list of recipients. The following list is incomplete:

1906 Eula Maxfield Garrott	1907 George T. McKee
1908 Horace Sloan	1909 Stuart R. Oglesby
1910 E. B. Paisley	1912 Eugene Sloan, Christine Murphy
1914 Malcolm E. Evans	1915 M. S. Smith, Jr.
1916 Fred Maxfield	1918 Jan McMurray
1921 Ira Nelson Barnett III	1922 John Quincy Wolf
1925 William A. Sensabaugh	1926 Etta Brewer
1927 Miriam Alice Anderson, Lillian Jimerson, Avon Shannon	1928 Marguerite Glant Shannon, Stuart H. Salmon
1929 Marjorie Norton	1930 Bess Millen Wolf
1931 Marjorie Witherspoon	1932 Mary Ross Wood
1933 Ella Myrl Dobson, Wilma Stanley	1934 Allie Beth Dent, Doris Wray, Lois Thomas
1935 Leila Heasley	1936 Martha Cantley, Dorothy Ross
1939 Lillie Mae Martin, Frances Ross	1940 Frances Chaney
1942 Betty Wasson, M. E. Wasson	1944 Mary Engels
1946 Charline Bryant	1947 Kathleen Sharp
1948 Lowell Southerland	1949 James Vernon Balch
1950 Gary Jones	1951 Pearl Ottinger
1952 Joan Creason	1953 Joyce Virginia Shillcutt
1954 Evelyn Willard	1955 Von Dean Gray
1956 Marjorie Stuart	1957 Jim Gillaspy
1958 Ernestine Teeter	1959 Barbara Buford
1960 Jacob C. Turner	1961 Mike Collins
1962 James Logan Morgan, Jr.	1963 Moorene Goff Newton
1964 Roberta Mae Bustin	1965 Mary King
1966 Lamar Middleton	1967 Mayola Satterfield
1968 Clifford Jackson	1969 Lance Jones
1970 Ronnie Gerald Brogdon	1971 Ray Hamlett
1972 Billy Wayne Bristow	1973 Peggy Reynolds
1974 Mary Ann Gray	1975 Mark Wood
1976 Mara Marlin	1977 Joan Rodella Chisam

1978 Jeannie Dacus Whitener	1979 Keith Stillwell
1980 Karen Sue Calaway	1981 William L. Garner
1982 John Collins	1983 Doug Punke
1984 Marsha Allen	1985 Cynthia Britton Barber
1986 Patty L. Keeton Burks	1987 David Wesley Duke
1988 Benjamin Carl Blount	1989 Jennifer Smith
1990 Leroy Roberts II	1991 Roger Weitkamp
1992 Benjamin Weston	1993 Shane Robert Smith
1994 Heather James	1995 Rebecca Osborne
1996 Robert Gregory Tebbetts	1997 Elizabeth Susan Neelly
1998 Leslie Lynn Chambliss	1999 Brandon Colby Flygare
2000 Kimberly Dickerson	2001 David McCullars
2002 Jonathan Thompson	2003 M. Danielle Temple
2004 Edlira Bashari	2005 Justin Holt
2006 Adam Long	2007 Robert Bailey
2008 Robert Frank	2009 Leah Byers
2010 April Burns	2011 Elena Rodriguez
2012 Andrew Todd	2013 Jon-Michael Poff
2014 Jonathan Dannatt	2015 Ralynn Brann
2016 Robbi Riggs	2017 Hope Woods
2018 Hannah Templin	2019 Jordan Trant
2020 Robert Luke Shackelford	2021 Zachary Ward
	2023 Nikkolette Perkins
2022 Hannah Wu	2025 NIKKOICUC I CI KIIIS